Chaplain of the Year

2018 Chaplain of the Year

Corporal Steve Smith

Montgomery County, Alabama

This award recognizes a chaplain who has made outstanding contributions to law enforcement and his/her agency or who had demonstrated conspicuous excellence in the performance of his/her duties. This award is sponsored by GTL.

Previous Winners

1998   Norman E. Mitchell - Cumberland County, NC

1999   Chaplain Mary Perry - Troy, OH

2000   Chaplain Ed Stelle - Multnomah County, OR

2001   Sheriff Timothy A. Hawsey - Escambia County, AL

2002   Chaplain Harold Ellis - Bell County, TX

2003   Chaplain Michael Taylor - Rowan County, NC

2004   Father Dennis J. Hayes - Onondaga County, NY

2005   Chaplain L. Gale Lyon - Knox County, TN

2006   Chaplain Ron McMurray - Whitman County, WA

2007   Bishop Doctor Michael J. Love - McHenry County, IL

2008   Chaplain Robert "Bob" Whithford - Lake County, FL

2009   Dr. Glenn Davis - Forsyth County, NC

2010   Chaplain Gerald Bills - Whitley County, IN

2011   Pastor Phillip A. Green - Genesee County, NY

2012   Reverend Tim Eldred - Rutherford County, TN

2013   Pastor Chuck Kish - Cumberland County, PA

2014  Sergeant Brian Boyer - Berks County, PA

2015  Chaplain Gregory Clayton - Orange County, FL

2016  Lieutenant, Chaplain James Stephens - Pinal County, Arizona