Traffic Safety Awards

J. Stannard Baker Award 

The deadline for the J. Stannard Baker Award for Highway Safety is May 1, 2016!  Applications must be received in the NSA office.  Click here for your application. This law enforcement award is sponsored by NHTSA, Northwestern University Center for Public Safety, and OnStar.

Traffic Safety Unit Award

The application deadline is May 1, 2015. The same application is used for The Traffic Enforcement Safety Unit Award and the IACP/NSA Law Enforcement Challenge. You do not have to be an NSA or IACP member to submit a NLEC application. However, you will need to create a username and password in order to log into the application system. For the application, click here

National Law Enforcement Challenge

The National Law Enforcement Challenge is a friendly competition among law enforcement agencies, focusing on the traffic safety issues of Impaired Driving, Occupant Protection, and Speed Awareness. Additionally, agencies can select a traffic safety issue that has been identified as a problem in their state or locality. Within each of these four categories, participating agencies are evaluated and awarded points on their approaches to these traffic safety issues based on seven factors: Problem Identification, Policies, Planning, Training, Public Information & Education, Enforcement, and Outcomes. Click here for more info.

For questions, contact:

Ed Hutchision
Director of Traffic Safety