One voice for the Office of Sheriff

Deputy Sheriff

Sheriff of the Year

2014 Ferris E. Lucas Sheriff of the Year
Sheriff Douglas C. Gillespie
Clark County, Nevada


NSA is pleased to announce that Douglas C. Gillespie, Sheriff of Clark County, Nevada has been selected as the 2014 Ferris E. Luca Award for Sheriff of the Year. The Ferris E. Lucas Award will be presented at the Opening General Session on Sunday, June 22nd at NSA’s Annual Conference in Fort Worth, Texas.

Sheriff Gillespie is currently serving his second term as Sheriff of Clark County. He worked his way up trough the ranks at the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department and was elected Sheriff in 2007. Sheriff Gillespie is a 30-year law enforcement veteran. He has been a member of the Nevada Sheriffs’ and Chiefs’ Association for the past 9 years. During this time, Sheriff Gillespie has been an active member of his State Association and has contributed greatly to the law enforcement endeavors of his county and the State of Nevada.

His leadership has won the Department national recognition for its community policing strategies, which led to lower violent crime in targeted areas. His commitment to the community and work on children’s issues won him “Child Advocate of the Year” in 2009.

The City of Las Vegas is one of the top tourist attractions in the world. As sheriff of the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department, Sheriff Gillespie’s agency services a population of close to two million residents and forty million tourists annually. Over seventy percent of the state population lives within his jurisdiction. Under the leadership of Sheriff Gillespie, the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department leads the way in law enforcement throughout the State of Nevada.

As a member of the State Homeland Security Commission, Sheriff Gillespie’s attention to detail and his passion for information sharing has made the Southern Nevada Counter Terrorism Center one of the finest in the Nation. Sheriff Gillespie has played a major role in ensuring that the State of Nevada is safe and prepared for potential acts of terrorism. His partnerships with local, state and federal agencies and his relationship with the community have helped make this possible.

Sheriff Gillespie is a member of the National Sheriffs’ Association and sits on the Board of Directors and Executive Committee. He is also part of the Association’s Legislative Committee and Immigration and Border Security Subcommittee.  


The National Sheriffs' Association established the Ferris E. Lucas award in 1995 to recognize an outstanding sheriff of the year for contributions made to improve the Office of Sheriff on the local, state, and national levels, and for involvement in the community above and beyond the responsibilities required. The award is given in memory of Ferris E. Lucas, NSA Past President (1944-46) and executive director (1964-82), who completed 50 years of distinguished service and leadership in law enforcement.

This award is sponsored by Pursuit Products, Inc.

Previous Winners

1995   Bob E. Rice - Polk County, WI

1996   Charles A. Fuselier - St. Matin Parish, LA

1997   John R. Newhart - City of Chesapeake, VA

1998   Tim Hutchison - Knox County, TN

1999   Bill Hutson - Cobb County, GA

2000   Stanley Glanz - Tulsa County, OK

2001   Patrick Sullivan, Jr. - rapahoe County, CO

2002   Bob Garvey - North Hampton, MA

2003   Kevin Beary - Orange County, FL

2004   Dave Reichert - King County, WA

2005   Patrick McGowan - Hennepin County, MN

2006   Joseph W. Oxley - Monmouth County, NJ

2007   Edmund M. "Ted" Sexton, Sr. - Tuscaloosa County, AL

2008   John Cary Bittick - Monroe County, GA

2009   Mark H. Luttrell, Jr. - Shelby County, TN

2010   Jerry "Peanuts" Gaines - Warren County, KY

2011   Paul Babeu - Pinal County, AZ

2012   Paul D. Laney - Cass County, ND

2013   Leroy Baca - Los Angeles County, CA