July 9, 2012

The Honorable Lamar Smith Chair, House Judiciary Committee 2409 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable John Conyers Ranking member, House Judiciary Committee 2426 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Smith and Ranking Member Conyers:

We, the undersigned groups, represent a broad cross-section of the criminal and juvenile justice systems in states and local communities across the nation. We write today to offer our strongest support for H.R. 6062, the Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program Reauthorization Act of 2012. Under current law, the Byrne Justice Assistance Grant (Byrne JAG) program is authorized through September 30, 2012. We consider it of the highest priority that the program is reauthorized before it is allowed to expire. Therefore, we urge quick approval of H.R. 6062 which will extend the program's authorization through Fiscal Year 2017.

Byrne JAG is the cornerstone federal crime-fighting program, supporting the federal government's crucial role in spurring innovation, as well as testing and replicating evidence-based practices nationwide. States and localities use Byrne JAG to test emerging and evidence-based approaches to the public safety challenges in their jurisdictions. Because Byrne JAG is flexible, states and local communities are able to use Byrne JAG to address needs and fill gaps across the entire criminal justice system. Flexibility is a hallmark of the Byrne JAG program and one that is vitally important. Criminal justice is a system, the activities and priorities of one component impacting the activities and priorities of the other components. Only when the system is functioning in balance can the public safety truly be protected.

We strongly support the reauthorization of the Byrne JAG program before its expiration in recognition of the central role Byrne JAG plays in preventing victimization and fighting crime in neighborhoods across our country and in leveraging other federal, state, local and private dollars to support the balanced functioning of the criminal justice system. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Jack Cutrone President

National Criminal Justice Association (NCJA)

pele Cutrocce

Sheriff Larry Amerson

President

National Sheriffs Association (NSA)

tom cochran

Tom Cochran CEO and Executive Director The U.S. Conference of Mayors (USCM)

Dard WS-

Darrel W Stephens Executive Director

Major Cities Chiefs Association (MCCA)

Sheriff Rich Stanek

President

Major County Sheriffs' Association (MCSA)

Ron Brooks President

National Narcotics' Officers Associations' Coalition (NNOAC)

Dennis Hallion

Executive Director

National Troopers Coalition (NTC)

Carl Wicklund

Executive Director

American Probation and Parole Association (APPA)



David LaBahn
President/CEO
Association of Prosecuting Attorneys (APA)

Larry E. Naake Executive Director

National Association of Counties (NACo)

William T. Pound Executive Director

National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)

Tobat Lasasci

Robert J. Kasabian

Executive Director

American Jail Association (AJA)

Will Marling

Executive Director

National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA)

Michael Thompson Executive Director

Council of State Governments Justice Center

Jankwey

Jan Scully President

National District Attorneys Association (NDAA)

Arthur T. Dean

Major General, U.S. Army, Retired

Chairman and CEO

Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America (CADCA)

Gabrielle de la Gueronniere

Director for National Policy

Legal Action Center (LAC)

Dan Eddy

Executive Director

National Association of Crime Victims' Compensation Boards (NACVCB)

Tim Murray

Executive Director

Pretrial Justice Institute

Ronald C. Sloan President

Association of State Criminal Investigative Agencies (ASCIA)

Colot

Mei Jeu

Swan T/Mele

West Huddleston

Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director

National Association of Drug Court Professionals (NADCP)

Mai Fernandez

Executive Director

National Center for Victims of Crime (NCVC)

Susan Valle

President

National Association of Prosecutor Coordinators (NAPC)

Scott Berkowitz

President

Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN)

William J. Johnson

William fort

Executive Director

National Association of Police Organizations (NAPO)

Ron Hawley

Executive Director

SEARCH

Philip D. Steen

Philip Duane Steen

President

National Alliance of State Drug Enforcement Agencies (NASDEA)

Roberta Meyers Peeples

Director

National H.I.R.E. Network

annis Sure

Dennis Slocumb

Executive Vice President

International Union of Police Associations (IUPA)

oberta negero Peoples

Diane DeAngelis

President

Association of VAWA Administrators (AVA)

Bruce Ferrell

President

National Alliance of Gang Investigators' Associations (NAGIA)

Robert I. L. Morrison Executive Director

National Association of State Alcohol and Drug Abuse Directors (NASADAD)

Smplelo

Edwin Maldonado National President National Latino Peace Officers Association (NLPOA)

Dege + Camelle Canp

Eduard Loughim

George and Camille Camp

Co-Executive Directors

Association of State Correctional Administrators (ASCA)

Edward J. Loughran

Executive Director

Council of Juvenile Correctional Administrators (CJCA)

James A. Gondles, Jr.

Executive Director

American Correctional Association (ACA)

Steve Ambrosini

Executive Director

IJIS Institute

Stacie Rumenap

President

Stop Child Predators